KICKSTART – Switching it up at the Zoo

I spend a LOT of time at the zoo.  On average, I visit once per month.  That number used to be roughly three times per month, but alas, life has a way of getting in the way.  It was at the Pittsburgh Zoo that I really found my calling as a photographer.  Before I was hired for my first full time out job out of college, I’d spend countless hours at each exhibit (with an extended period of time at the big cats) just staring and snapping, staring and snapping.

DSC_0857 edited final lum mask 020316blog

The type of image I was, and still am, after is just like the one you see above: a nice, tight image of the subject animal with zero indication that the photo was taken at a zoo.  The snow provides a natural, realistic backdrop for this amur leopard which lives in snowy regions of Russia.  It’s a fantastic photo, but for me, it sort of felt like a been there done that moment.  I needed to switch things up to get out of a creative rut.  But how?

I continued on through the zoo, still searching for a theme or idea.  Doing what I normally do in the winter time when it’s cold, I headed to the aquarium to breeze through the exhibits and warm up a bit.  To my delight, it was empty without another soul to be seen.  I won’t get in to all of the technicals of my shots, but suffice it to say that being alone gave me a lot of freedom, and time, to work on some techniques for shooting through the glass of the exhibits.  I’m very pleased with the end results and next time, I might not heed the advice of our absent minded fish friend, Dory.  I won’t just keep swimming.  I’ll wait then shoot, wait then shoot.  And hopefully I’ll swim away with some winners!

DSC_0945blog

DSC_1082blog

 

DSC_1187blog

DSC_1200blog

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “KICKSTART – Switching it up at the Zoo”

  1. Kayla Catalano says :

    excellent photographs!

Leave a Reply

