Fleeting

DSC_5520 edited final lum mask 042716 c web srgb

It’s said that you shouldn’t stare directly into the sun because it can lead to permanent damage to your eyes. Since my eyes are literally how I make a living and provide for my family, I usually heed this advice, but only if the sun is unobstructed. If the sun is partially blocked, by say a bank of clouds, you get a beautiful array of light beams dancing gently in the sky making their way down to earth. Something so soft and beautiful couldn’t hurt, right?

Up until this past week I would have agreed. Now, I’m not so sure. But it’s not my eyes that I’m worried about. It’s my heart. I’ve heard before, and even said it myself (last night in fact), that those rays of light we see being filtered through the clouds are our loved ones watching over us. If that’s true, and I just might believe that it is, aren’t those very light beams also a reminder to us that our loved ones are no longer with us? Again, that’s true. That hurts. But the pain is temporary.

DSC_5043 edited final lum mask 101215 c web srgb

If you’ve ever witnessed the scene I’m describing, you know these wonderfully golden rays don’t last very long. They are beautiful. They are intense. They are also fleeting. And for me at this time, perhaps these beams are a most appropriate symbol for the friend – no, brother – I’ve recently lost. His life was beautiful. The impact he had on anyone he ever met was as positively intense as his immense size. And his life, fleeting – a seemingly brief moment, gone at the speed of light. But, unlike the heartache and the light, his impact will be everlasting.

Anyone that ever met him remembered him…and they were better for it. Good journey my brother, until we meet again. And we will meet again.

DSC_1087 edited final lum mask 082015 c web srgbDSC_2606 edited final lum mask 091315 c web srgbRay Botany Bay Edisto Island Charleston Sunrise c web srgb

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Fleeting”

  1. Ken says :

    Beautiful words and sentiment. I have been there, in fact I go to that place with every sunrise and sunset. I did not know your friend, but I am sure he is with my friends and parents and they, in unison send their love to us.

  2. Joanie says :

    I am so sorry for your loss. My ex husband passed away June 2015 unexpectedly and your post and blog has helped me. My Mum always said that even on the darkest days the sun is still behind the clouds waiting to shine through. She called them “Rays of Hope” and I do believe they are watching over us from heaven. 💘👼
    Best wishes.

  3. Patricia Altenhof says :

    A beautiful sentiment, and taken to heart… We have always search for what we call “God clouds” and finding one is a special blessing because when we find one it is like a short cut to conversing with those who watch from above… I am sorry that you have lost a friend, but he is still with you in his own way. Take care my friend, and keep blessing us with your wonderful talent….. Hugs…

  4. Kara C says :

    I know exactly what you’re feeling. I lost my older sister about 2 1/2 months ago. While I was still in Central New York, a day prior to her memorial service, my brother in law and I saw those beautiful rays of sun shining through the clouds. Including an opening in the very center. We both knew it was Kelley. Take care and I look forward to more of your beautiful creations of the hometown.

Leave a Reply

